Applying What You Learned

hopefully_ap_style

https://brandingmeilani.wordpress.com/

In writing for public relations we had five major assignments where learned about writing then applied what we learned into the assignment given to us. Our professor made the assignments interesting by letting us use an organization we were part for the assignments.  I enjoyed being able to actually get to use these assignments for my organization. I am part several organizations which is great for this class because it adds variety to your work and it makes your work interesting. All of our five major assignments are very important because they are the main task public relations  professionals do daily.

Here are the major writing assignments we did in class:

Public relations professionals must do media kits which include: The Fact sheet/ media advisory/ media alert/and media pitch. These are all informative writing to the public. This assignment is pretty big and it was very overwhelming. I think what would have been best for the class when we turned this assignment in was instead of turning in it in all at once we should’ve broken this down into parts. For example, the fact sheet could’ve been done first and then we should’ve turned it in and then do the same for the rest of the parts of the media kit. I think would have been able to do everything better. It was a good experience of working under pressure for my future career as a public relations professional.

The News release provides information that will interest your audience. In my writing for public relations class we did several news releases which provided us with good practice on how to write an effective news release. New Releases are not that easy to write and this is where the AP style book is your best friend in order to have well written AP style press release.

The brochure

The brochure was a fun assignment for me mainly because I got to use one of the organizations I am in and feature two of my friends in the brochure. This assignment will be enjoyable if you like to design and be creative. For the brochure assignment make sure you have enough information from your organization and then be able to put it in a creative and brief format for your audience.

The diversity news release

This assignment was very interesting to me because  I am minority it feels good to see that minorities must be represented well in new releases or any professional writing. During this assignment I learned a lot of new things like how to refer to races, gender, and sexual orientation in AP format. I truly like that AP style book respects all people by having rules on how to refer to people properly without offending them in professional writing.

E-newsletter

The E-newsletter assignment was not my favorite although I did write about one of the organization’s I was in I was lost on what exactly to write in the content section of the news release. We should’ve concentrated more on what exactly to write on the newsletter.

Leave a Reply

